The Magnus Ehrnrooth Prize

Since 1986, the Foundation has awarded the annual Magnus Ehrnrooth Prize, which is given on a rotating basis to a particularly distinguished researcher in mathematics, physics, and chemistry. The Foundation awards the prize based on the recommendation by the Finnish Society of Sciences and Letters.

Tidigare prismottagare:

2024 Jouko Väänänen, mathematics

Jouko Väänänen (b. 1950) completed his doctorate in 1977 in Manchester. In 1983 he was appointed assistant professor of mathematics at the Department of Mathematics at the University of Helsinki and in 1999 to tenured professor, a position he held until his retirement in 2018. Currently, Väänänen continues to work at the department as research director.

Väänänen’s research has focused on set theory and several different subfields within logic. In his work, he has achieved significant results in questions related to model theory, set theory and, in a broader sense, the foundations of mathematics. In the MathSciNet database, 128 publications and 830 citations by Väänänen have been registered. In recent years, dependency logic has been one of Väänänen’s most important research themes. He has significantly developed the theory of dependency logic and published a popular monograph on the subject. In 2021, Väänänen was awarded an ERC advanced grant for research in dependency logic and application of the research to e.g. team semantics, quantum logic and set theory. Väänänen is an active member of the international logic community and its organizations and has spoken at several important conferences in the field.

In Finland, Väänänen has carried out pioneering work to develop his research branches both at the University of Helsinki and throughout the country. His contribution has been central to the emergence of the currently active Finnish research groups in logic and set theory. Väänänen has had 20 doctoral students, many of whom are currently working as professors.

The Magnus Ehrnrooth Foundation Prize in Mathematics, 20,000 €.

2023 Kostiainen Mauri, chemistry

2022 Vuorinen Aleksi, physics

2021 Kari Jarkko, mathematics

2020 Ritala Mikko, chemistry

2019 Törmä Päivi, physics

2018 Saksman Eero, mathematics

2017 Johansson Peter, great grant

2016 Kainulainen Kimmo, physics

2015 Nyberg Kaisa, mathematics

2014 Slotte Peter, chemistry

2013 Vattulainen Ilpo, physics

2012 Koskela Pekka, mathematics

2011 Salmi Tapio, chemistry

2010 Vehkamäki Hanna, fysik

2009 Kupiainen Antti, mathematics

2008 Riekkola Marja-Liisa, chemistry

2007 Nordlund Kai, physics

2006 Päivärinta Lassi, mathematics

2005 Rissanen Kari , chemistry

2004 Saarinen Kimmo, physics

2003 Astala Kari, mathematics

2002 Leskelä Markku, chemistry

2001 Suominen Kalle-Antti, physics

2000 Mattila Pertti, mathematics

1999 Stenius Per, chemistry

1998 Enqvist Kari, physics

1997 Illman Sören, mathematics

1996 Pakkanen Tapani, chemistry

1995 Manninen Matti, physics

1994 Rickman Seppo, mathematics

1993 Törmälä Pentti, chemistry

1992 Hautojärvi Pekka, physics

1991 Salomaa Arto, mathematics

1990 Lounasmaa Mauri, chemistry

1989 Nieminen Risto, physics

1986 Lehto Olli, mathematics